Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This is a coming-of-age novel about growing up black and gay in Southern California. The lead character, Johnnie Ray Rousseau, is a high-school student upset at losing the lead role in the school staging of Romeo and Juliet. As if that weren't enough, his best friend has been beaten badly by his father and his girlfriend is pressuring him to have sex for the first time. All the while, he's intrigued by Marshall MacNeill, whom he meets at an audition and is surely the sexiest man to walk God's green earth - at least according to Johnnie Ray. This novel of adolescent awakening is as fresh and heartfelt as it was when first published by St. Martin's Press in 1968. With an introduction by Michael Nava, who is best known for his gay mystery novels featuring Henry Rios, five of which have won Lambda Literary Awards, including "Golden Boys and Hometown" (both published by Alyson).

Buy Blackbird book by Larry Duplechan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781551522029
ISBN-10: 1551522020
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 139mm x 16mm)
Pages: 225
Imprint: Arsenal Pulp Press
Publisher: Arsenal Pulp Press
Publish Date: 10-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: Canada


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Blackbird book by Larry Duplechan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Larry Duplechan

Larry Duplechan is the author of four novels, including Captain Swing and Tangled Up in Blue.

Books By Author Larry Duplechan

Blackbird (New Edition) by Larry Duplechan

Blackbird (New Edition)

Paperback / softback, May 2015
Best Gay Erotica by Larry Duplechan

Best Gay Erotica

Paperback, January 2014
Got 'Til it's Gone by Larry Duplechan

Got 'Til it's Gone

Paperback, November 2008
Tangled up in Blue by Larry Duplechan

Tangled up in Blue

Paperback, December 1992