Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Pig Boy's Wicked Bird by Doug Crandell

This gritty tragicomic memoir is set in one memorable year--1976, the Bicentennial, when Jimmy Carter ran for president and seven-year-old Doug Crandell lost two fingers in a farming accident. More than anything, Doug wants to shed his nickname, Pig Boy, and grow up to be a hog man like his father. His older brother Derrick reads pulp novels to him each night as he soaks his remaining fingers in Epsom salts. His brothers urge him to "flip the Wicked Bird" any time another child makes fun of his "lobster-red hand." Doug shares his summer of healing in Wabash, Indiana, with humans and animals who've suffered life-changing traumas: a brutal grandfather gentled by stroke, a deaf dog with a deadly taste for pig's ears, a tough-love mother coping with depression, a bevy of runt piglets saved from extermination. This is a story of love, loss, healing, and a family's relation with the land they love and know that they will lose.

Buy Pig Boy's Wicked Bird by Doug Crandell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781556525520
ISBN-10: 1556525524
Format: Hardback
(215mm x 139mm x mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Chicago Review Press
Publisher: Chicago Review Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Pig Boy's Wicked Bird by Doug Crandell

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Pig Boy's Wicked Bird book by Doug Crandell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Doug Crandell

Doug Crandell is the author of Pig Boy's Wicked Bird. His stories and essays have appeared in Atlanta Magazine, Glimmer Train, Indianapolis Monthly, Smithsonian, and The SUN and have been published in the anthologies Mother Knows: 24 Tales of Motherhood and Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe III: An Anthology of Southern Writers. He lives in Marietta, Georgia.

Books By Doug Crandell

They're Calling You Home by Doug Crandell
Paperback, June 2012
Peculiar Boars of Malloy by Doug Crandell
Paperback, December 2009
Fear Came to Town by Doug Crandell
Paperback, December 2009