Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - In Democracy's Shadow by Marcus G. Raskin

The response to the September 11 tragedy has raised fears about the American empire abroad and the gutting of constitutional liberties at home. But the editors of this bookone of whom, Marcus Raskin, served on the National Security Councilclaim that the changes in the American government since the attacks, though profound, are not necessarily new. The "National Security State" has shaped our government for at least a century, and since 1947, it has embedded itself in the attitudes of the bureaucracy, the major political parties, and the educational system. This collection of original essayswhich includes such distinguished historians as Gar Alperovitz, Kai Bird, William Blum, Saul Landau, and Carolyn Eisenbergtraces those changes back to the early years of the twentieth century, and follows them step by step through the cold war to the present.

Buy In Democracy's Shadow by Marcus G. Raskin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781560256960
ISBN-10: 1560256966
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 18mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Nation Books
Publisher: Avalon Publishing Group
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - In Democracy's Shadow by Marcus G. Raskin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In Democracy's Shadow book by Marcus G. Raskin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Marcus G. Raskin

Warfare Welfare by Marcus G. Raskin
Paperback, March 2012
Four Freedoms Under Siege by Marcus G. Raskin
Paperback, October 2008
Nation-Building & Citizenship by Marcus G. Raskin
Paperback, January 1996
Essays of a Citizen by Marcus G. Raskin
Hardback, September 1991