Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Queen of the Prisons of Greece by Osman Lins

This is the final novel of one of the most innovative, comic Brazilian writers of this century. It takes the form of an anonymous high school science teacher's journal about an unpublished novel written by his deceased lover, a young woman named Julia Marquezim Enone. Her novel's central character, Maria da Franca, is a destitute and mentally unstable woman at odds with the Brazilian social welfare system, from which she is trying to claim benefits for time spent in a psychiatric hospital. The journal represents the science teacher's attempt to understand Julia's novel and, in the process, Julia herself and the relationship they once shared.

Buy The Queen of the Prisons of Greece by Osman Lins from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781564780560
ISBN-10: 1564780562
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 142mm x mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Dalkey Archive Press
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publish Date: 1-Jan-1995
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Queen of the Prisons of Greece by Osman Lins

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Queen of the Prisons of Greece book by Osman Lins and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Osman Lins

Osman Lins (July 5, 1924, Vit ria de Santo Antao, Pernambuco, Brazil - July 8, 1978, Sao Paulo, Brazil) was a Brazilian novelist and short story writer. He is considered to be one of the leading innovators of Brazilian literature in the mid 20th century. He graduated from the University of Recife in 1946 with a degree in economics and finance, and held a position as bank clerk from 1943 until 1970. From 1970 to 1976 he taught literature. His first novel, 0 Visitante ("The Visitor"), was published in 1955. His later publications would bring him international recognition and establish his reputation--Nove, Novena (1966; "Nine, Ninth"), a collection of short stories, Avalovara (1973), a novel, and A Rainha dos C rceres da Gr cia (1976; "The Queen of the Grecian Jails"), a novel/essay. Lins was the recipient of three major Brazilian literary awards, which included the Coelho Neto Prize of the Brazilian Academy of Letters.

Books By Osman Lins

Nine, Novena by Osman Lins
Paperback, August 2011