Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Willie Master's Lonesome Wife by William H. Gass

In this paean to the pleasures of language, Gass equates his text with the body of Babs Masters, the lonesome wife of the title, to advance the conceit that a parallel should exist between a woman and her lover and a book and its reader. Disappointed by her inattentive husband/reader, Babs engages in an exuberant display of the physical charms of language to entice an illicit new lover: a man named Gelvin in one sense, but more importantly, the reader of this "essay-novella" that has attained the status of a postmodernist classic. Originally published by Knopf in 1971, published by Dalkey Archive Press in 1989, now available again.

Buy Willie Master's Lonesome Wife by William H. Gass from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781564782120
ISBN-10: 1564782123
Format: Paperback
(249mm x 152mm x 6mm)
Pages: 64
Imprint: Dalkey Archive Press
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publish Date: 1-Apr-1999
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Willie Master's Lonesome Wife by William H. Gass

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Willie Master's Lonesome Wife book by William H. Gass and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - William H. Gass

William H. Gass is the author of four novels--Omensetter's Luck, Willie Masters' Lonely Wife, The Tunnel, and Middle C--as well as two volumes of short stories and eight collections of essays. Gass was a professor of philosophy at Washington University from 1966-2000, and Director of the International Writers Center from 1990 until 2000. He has been the recipient of many awards, including the Pen-Nabokov Lifetime Achievement Award, the Lannan Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award, and National Book Critics Circle Awards for Criticism in 1985, 1996, and 2003, among others.

Books By William H. Gass

Reading Rilke by William H. Gass
Paperback, October 2015
Life Sentences by William H. Gass
Paperback, January 2015
In The Heart Of The Heart Of The... by William H. Gass
Paperback, November 2014
Tests of Time by William H. Gass
Paperback, July 2014