Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Magic Kingdom by Stanley Elkin

Abandoned by his wife and devastated by the death of his twelve-year old son, Eddy Bale becomes obsessed with the plight of terminally ill children and develops a plan to provide a last hurrah dream vacation for seven children who will never grow-up. Eddy and his four dysfunctional chaperones journey to the entertainment capital of America--Disney World. Once they arrive, a series of absurdities characteristic of an Elkin novel--including a freak snowstorm and a run-in with a vengeful Mickey Mouse--transform Eddy's idealistic wish into a fantastic nightmare.

Buy The Magic Kingdom by Stanley Elkin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781564782595
ISBN-10: 156478259X
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 142mm x 18mm)
Pages: 317
Imprint: Dalkey Archive Press
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publish Date: 25-Sep-2009
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Magic Kingdom by Stanley Elkin

Book Reviews - The Magic Kingdom by Stanley Elkin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Magic Kingdom book by Stanley Elkin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Stanley Elkin

Stanley Elkin (1930-1995) was an award-winning author of novels, short stories, and essays. Born in the Bronx, Elkin received his BA and PhD from the University of Illinois and in 1960 became a professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis where he taught until his death. His critically acclaimed works include the National Book Critics Circle Award-winners George Mills (1982) and Mrs. Ted Bliss (1995), as well as the National Book Award finalists The Dick Gibson Show (1972), Searches & Seizures (1974), and The MacGuffin (1991). His book of novellas, Van Gogh's Room at Arles, was a finalist for the PEN Faulkner Award.

Books By Stanley Elkin

Pieces of Soap by Stanley Elkin
Paperback / softback, November 2016
Franchiser by Stanley Elkin
Paperback, July 2012
Rabbi of Lud by Stanley Elkin
Paperback, September 2009
MacGuffin by Stanley Elkin
Paperback, September 2009