Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Eight Eurocentric Historians by J.M. Blaut

This volume examines and critiques the work of a diverse group of Eurocentric historians who have strongly shaped our understanding of world history. Building upon the foundations laid in his previous book, "The Colonizer's Model of the World", which provided a systematic overview of the nature and evolution of Eurocentrism, Blaut focuses in depth on Max Weber, Lynn White Jr, Robert Brenner, Eric L. Jones, Michael Mann, John A. Hall, Jared Diamond, and David Landes. The role of each of these thinkers in generating colonialist understandings of history is described, and the fallacious assumptions at the roots of their arguments are revealed. Working toward an alternative understanding of the origins of modernity, this text aims to provide valuable insights and tools for readers across a range of disciplines.

Buy Eight Eurocentric Historians by J.M. Blaut from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781572305915
ISBN-10: 1572305916
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 156mm x mm)
Pages: 222
Imprint: Guilford Publications
Publisher: Guilford Publications
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Eight Eurocentric Historians by J.M. Blaut

Book Reviews - Eight Eurocentric Historians by J.M. Blaut

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eight Eurocentric Historians book by J.M. Blaut and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - J.M. Blaut

J. M. Blaut, PhD, until his death in 2000, was Professor of Geography at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The author of The Colonizer's Model of the World and Eight Eurocentric Historians, Dr. Blaut was a recipient of the Distinguished Scholarship Award from the Association of American Geographers (AAG). Awards in his name are given annually by the Cultural and Political Ecology Specialty Group and the Socialist and Critical Geography Specialty Group of the AAG.