Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Midnight Folk by John Masefield

The Midnight Folk introduces readers to Kay Harker, the orphaned boy who is also the hero of John Masefield s classic Christmas fantasy, The Box of Delights. Kay lives in a vast old country house, and is looked after by an unpleasant duo: the oily and egregious Sir Theopompous and the petulant and punitive Sylvia Daisy Pouncer. In her zeal to educate Kay on the finer points of Latin grammar, Sylvia Daisy has even taken away all of Kay s toys. Life seems very dull, until out of an old family portrait steps Kay s great-grandfather, a sea captain, who, if legend is to be believed, made off with a fabulous treasure. Soon Kay is engaged in a thrilling quest that begins each night as the clock strikes twelve, taking him into the enchanted and dangerous world of the Midnight Folk: pirates, highwaymen, talking animals, and a gang of witches led by none other than Sylvia Daisy (in cahoots, as in The Box of Delights, with the arch-villain Abner Brown). In the end, it is that ragtag team of old toys that rallies to support Kay and save the day. A book to set beside C.S. Lewis s Narnia tales and Joan Aiken s Wolves of Willoughby Chase not to mention the Harry Potter series The Midnight Folk is a wonderful and enthralling contribution to the great English tradition of children s literature, beloved by adults and children alike."

Buy The Midnight Folk by John Masefield from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781590172902
ISBN-10: 1590172906
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 147mm x 20mm)
Imprint: New York Review of Books
Publisher: New York Review of Books
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Midnight Folk by John Masefield

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Midnight Folk book by John Masefield and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John Masefield

John Masefield (1878-1967) was born in Herefordshire, England. After being orphaned at an early age, he was sent to sea aboard the school-ship HMS Conway in preparation for a naval career. Masefield s apprenticeship was disastrous he was classified as a Distressed British Seaman after a voyage around Cape Horn and he soon left the ship. Arrangements were then made for him to join another ship in New York. But Masefield had other plans: he deserted ship vowing to be a writer, come what might. At seventeen Masefield was living as a vagrant in America. He found work as a bar hand but eventually secured employment at a carpet factory. Thinking that journalism might allow him to write for a living, Masefield returned to England in 1897. Masefield s first volume of oetry, Salt-Water Ballads, was published in 1902, however, it was not until the publication of The Everlasting Mercy in 1911 that he made his mark on the literary scene. The success of his second book was followed by the publication of several long narrative poems, including Dauber (1914) and Reynard the Fox (1919). With the outbreak of the war, Masefield became an orderly at a hospital in France. He also took charge of a motorboat ambulance service at Gallipoli in 1915. After the Allied failure there, Masefield visited America and undertook a series of lectures in support of the war effort. IN 1930 he was appointed Poet Laureate, and five years later the much-loved Masefield was awarded the Order of Merit. He died on May 12, 1967, and his ashes were interred in Poets Corner, Westminster Abbey. The two Kay Harker books, The Midnight Folk (1927) and The Box of Delights (1935), are Masefield s lasting contribution to children s fantasy literature. The Box of Delights is now an established Christmas favourite and as much a part of the season as Dickens s A Christmas Carol. Madeleine L'Engle (1918 2007) was an American writer best known for her Young Adult fiction, particularly the Newbery Medal-winning A Wrinkle in Time and its sequels A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time."

Books By John Masefield

Children's Books of Yesterday by John Masefield
Paperback, October 2014
Gallipoli by John Masefield
Hardback, April 2014
Right Royal by John Masefield
Paperback, January 2014
Old Front Line (Illustrated Edition) (Dodo Press) by John Masefield
Paperback / softback, September 2009