Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Earthquakes by David L. Harrison

Each year there are millions of earthquakes. Most are mild tremors that cause no damage. They usually go unnoticed. But a few earthquakes can be devastating, like the one that struck San Francisco in 1989 and destroyed hundreds of homes. Earthquakes happen under the ocean, too. If the quakes are strong enough, the shocks create enormous waves. Such powerful waves roll across the ocean at high speeds and may cause more damage when they hit land than the earthquake itself. What causes the Earth to quiver and shake? This basic introduction explains why the Earth's surface sometimes moves. It shows young readers how scientists believe the earth is made, from its hot iron core to the enormous floating plates that form the cool outer crust where we live. David L. Harrison and Cheryl Nathan examine the nature and causes of earthquakes in vivid, easy-to-understand language and bold illustrations.

Buy Earthquakes by David L. Harrison from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781590782439
ISBN-10: 1590782437
Format: Hardback
(254mm x 204mm x mm)
Pages: 32
Imprint: Boyds Mills Press
Publisher: Boyds Mills Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Earthquakes by David L. Harrison

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Earthquakes book by David L. Harrison and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David L. Harrison

David L. Harrison holds degrees in science and has a keen interest in how nature works. This is his fifth book in the Earthworks series. He lives in Springfield, Missouri. Cheryl Nathan has worked as an art director and designer in advertising, journalism, and book publishing, and she has illustrated a number of nature books for children. She lives in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Books By David L. Harrison

Place To Start A Family by David L. Harrison
Hardback, January 2018
Pirates by David L. Harrison
Hardback, November 2012
Cowboys by David L. Harrison
Hardback, April 2012
Monster Is Coming! by David L. Harrison
Paperback, February 2011