Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Anxious Pleasures by Lance Olsen

Anxious Pleasures takes Franz Kafka's profoundly haunting and sad comic novella, The Metamorphosis, and reanimates it through the vantage points of those who surrounded Gregor Samsa during his plight. All the familiar characters are here, including the hysterical mother, stern father, faithless sister, and the pragmatic household cook. But we are also introduced to, among others, the would-be author downstairs who daydreams of the narrative he may someday compose and a young woman in contemporary London reading Kafka's slim book for the first time.Or do they all comprise a few of the disturbing dreams from which Gregor is about to snap awake one morning to find himself transformed into a monstrous vermin? In the tradition of Michael Cunningham's The Hours and John Gardner's Grendel, Olsen's novel not only represents a collaboration with a ghost, but, too, a celebration, augmentation, complication, and devoted unwriting of a momentously influential text.

Buy Anxious Pleasures by Lance Olsen from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781593761356
ISBN-10: 159376135X
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 127mm x mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: Basic Civitas Books
Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Anxious Pleasures by Lance Olsen

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Anxious Pleasures book by Lance Olsen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Books By Lance Olsen

Dreamlives of Debris by Lance Olsen
Paperback, April 2017
$29.12
Head in Flames by Lance Olsen
Paperback, April 2017
$25.68
10 by Lance Olsen
Paperback, April 2017
$25.68
There's No Place Like Time by Lance Olsen
Paperback, February 2015
$29.12