Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Tchaikovsky by David Brown

In this distinctive new work on Tchaikovsky, David Brown uniquely combines a lively biography of Russia's best-loved composer with a chronological guide to his music, ranging from the popular symphonies, concertos, operas and ballets like Swan Lake and The Nutcracker, to some lesser-known pieces. Brown skillfully guides the reader through Tchaikovsky's music within the context of his life, and the result is an edifying journey through some of the greatest and most moving music ever composed.As for Tchaikovsky himself, he emerges as a man dogged with bouts of depression but capable of great kindness, devoted to his family, unstinting with his time and money, even on behalf of virtual strangers. It is no wonder that when he died, he was given a state funeral, nor that the massive crowds lining the streets delayed the procession to the cemetery by five hours.

Buy Tchaikovsky by David Brown from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781605980171
ISBN-10: 160598017X
Format: Paperback / softback
(224mm x 152mm x 38mm)
Imprint: Pegasus Books
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2009
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Tchaikovsky by David Brown

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Tchaikovsky book by David Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By David Brown

Power Relations in the Twenty-First Century by David Brown
Hardback, September 2017
George W. Bush's Foreign Policies by David Brown
Hardback, August 2017
California Landlord's Law Book: Evictions by David Brown
Paperback / softback, April 2017
California Landlord's Law Book: Rights & Responsibilities by David Brown
Paperback / softback, April 2017