Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Mint Lawn by Gillian Mears

Winner of the Australian/Vogel's Literary Award 1990.

North Coast, New South Wales. Clementine is twenty-five and still living in the place where she grew up, rooted there by memories and her own inability to make changes until she has understood her past. The past is dominated by memories of her mother, and her mother, and her mother's attempts to dramatise and enrich small-town life and the perceptions of her three clever, receptive daughters.

But only Clementine has stayed. Is this out of loyalty to her mother's memory? Or to comfort her father? Perhaps she wants to find peace with Hugh, her earnest husband in whose house she most uncomfortably lives? Or is the lure Thomas, who alone can appreciate Clementine's own sensuality, and her humour, but who must remain another of her secrets.

In The Mint Lawn, Gillian Mears has written a wonderful debut novel which will be read with pleasure and remembered with joy.

'Gillian Mears writes like an angel.' - Kate Veitch, The Age

'. powerful and beautifully balanced.' - Katharine England, Adelaide Advertiser

Buy The Mint Lawn by Gillian Mears from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781742379333
ISBN-10: 1742379338
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 128mm x mm)
Pages: 420
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2011
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - The Mint Lawn by Gillian Mears

Book Reviews - The Mint Lawn by Gillian Mears

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mint Lawn book by Gillian Mears and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Gillian Mears

Gillian Mears grew up in the northern New South Wales town of Grafton. Acclaim came early, with her short-story collections and novels winning major prizes. Her books include Ride a Cock Horse (1988), Fineflour (1990), winner of a Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Book, The Mint Lawn (1991) winner of the Australian/Vogel Literary Award, and The Grass Sister (1995), winner of the regional Commonwealth Prize for Best Book. A Map of the Gardens (2002) won the 2003 Steele Rudd Australian Short Story Award.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Gillian Mears

Foal'S Bread by Gillian Mears
Hardback, October 2016
$28.04 $32.99
Cat With the Coloured Tail by Gillian Mears
Hardback, September 2015
$16.99 $19.99
Fineflour by Gillian Mears
Paperback / softback, October 1990
$12.71 $14.95
The Cat With the Coloured Tail by Gillian Mears
Paperback / softback, April 2016