Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

'Monsters,' said Vince Martinelli. 'There are monsters on the rig, Dave.' Dave Hooper has the hangover from hell, a demonic ex-wife and the claws of the tax office sinking into him. So the last thing he needs is an explosion at the off-shore oil rig where he works. But this is no ordinary industrial accident, and despite the news reports, Dave knows that terrorists aren't to blame for the disaster. He knows because he kills one of the things responsible. When he wakes up in a hospital bed guarded by Navy SEALs, he realises this is more than just a bad acid trip. Yet his shock and anger are cut short by a startling self-discovery; his contact with the creature has transformed the overweight, balding safety manager into something else entirely. A goddamned superhero. Then he learns the attack on the rig is only the first.

Buy Emergence book by John Birmingham from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781742614045
ISBN-10: 1742614043
Format: Paperback
(233mm x 154mm x 25mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 01-Jan-2015
Country of Publication: Australia


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Emergence book by John Birmingham and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John Birmingham

John Birmingham John Birmingham is the author of the cult classic He Died With a Falafel in His Hand; the award-winning history Leviathan; the Axis of Time trilogy; the Disappearance Trilogy; and the Dave Hooper series. Between writing books he contributes to a wide range of newspapers and magazines on topics as diverse as the future of media and national security. He began his working life as a research officer with the Defence Department's Office of Special Clearances and Records.

Books By Author John Birmingham

Girl in Time by John Birmingham

A Girl in Time

Paperback / softback, December 2016
How to be a Writer by John Birmingham

How to be a Writer

Paperback, May 2016
Brave Ones by John Birmingham

The Brave Ones

Paperback, September 2015
Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham

Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters

Paperback / softback, June 2015