Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers

'It's a gem of a book. It made me wish Hester and Harriet were my neighbours.' Write Note Reviews'A great read...the sisters are wonderful characters filled with life.' Good ReadingWhen widowed sisters, Hester and Harriet, move in together, the only blights on their comfortable landscape are their crushingly boring cousins who are determined that the sisters will never want for company. Including Christmas Day.On their reluctant drive over to Christmas dinner, the sisters come across a young girl, hiding with her baby in a disused bus shelter. Seizing upon the perfect excuse for returning to their own warm hearth, Hester and Harriet insist on bringing Daria and Milo home with them.But with the knock at their front door the next day by a sinister stranger looking for a girl with a baby, followed quickly by their cousins' churlish fifteen-year-old son, Ben, who also appears to be seeking sanctuary, Hester and Harriet's carefully crafted peace and quiet quickly begins to fall apart.

Buy Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781760295035
ISBN-10: 1760295035
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 128mm x mm)
Pages: 418
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 3-Jan-2017
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers

Book Reviews - Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Hester and Harriet book by Hilary Spiers and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers - Reviewed by (10 Jan 2017)

Hester and Harriet is the first book in the Hester and Harriet series by British author, Hilary Spiers. Hester Greene and Harriet Pearson are “late middle-aged” widows living together in Pellington, the next village to their well-meaning cousin George, his wife Isabelle and their rather sullen son, Ben. On their reluctant way to another boring and probably inedible Christmas Day lunch, they pick up a waif taking cover in a disused bus shelter, a young woman with a baby, the perfect excuse to head home.

Before they have even had a chance to find out much about Daria and her just-months-old son, Milo, “nephew” Ben turns up on their doorstep, wanting respite from his parents. And when a private detective turns up looking for Daria, Hester and Harriet know they need answers. Trying to keep Daria’s situation under the radar of the village gossip, whilst also dealing diplomatically with Ben and his parents, certainly presents a challenge for these two feisty ladies. And that’s before others turn up in search of mother and baby, and a certain elderly gent in a hospital ward claims Hetty and Harry as his estranged sisters.

In this charming tale, Spiers gives the reader an original plot with a twist or two, while touching on several topical issues: the plight of refugees and asylum-seekers, the pressure of career choice, the rights of the indigent, the devastating effects of cot death. She populates her novel with a cast of delightful characters, quirky but easily believable: the teen wedded to his iPhone, the indigent gentleman scholar, the dodgy local businessman, the alcoholic wife, the anxious parents.

Hester and Harriet is a very enjoyable read: in amongst the serious topics there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and some wonderful descriptive prose. The sisters are a likeable pair whose flaws and foibles make them all the more appealing. Readers who enjoy Hester and Harriet will be pleased to know their story is continued in the sequel, Love, Lies and Linguine. Recommended!


Author Biography - Hilary Spiers

Hilary Spiers writes plays, novels and short stories. She enjoys giving a voice to ordinary women in sometimes extraordinary circumstances.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers also bought the following titles:

Books By Hilary Spiers

Hester and Harriet: Love, Lies and Linguine by Hilary Spiers
Paperback, March 2017
$17.07
Love, Lies and Linguine by Hilary Spiers
Paperback, January 2017
$25.19
Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers
Paperback, March 2016
$17.07