Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Plays for One Person by David Pownall

The fate of the monologue has too often relied on storytelling. These three solo plays focus instead on arguments for self. Closely fitted to the strengths of the performers for whom the plays were written, as perceived by the playwright, each represents both a homage and a critique. In Rousseau's Tale, the revolutionary philosopher addressed the Royal Society and demands freedom from sexual guilt. In Crates on Barrells, the disciple of the great Cynic, Diogenes, daily risks his life at the bidding of his master's ideas - and in order to preserve his independence from the Athenian state. In Later an event consumes an individual seeking freedom, as Sonia justifies deserting her family to join the Russian Revolution.

Buy Plays for One Person by David Pownall from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840020106
ISBN-10: 1840020105
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 130mm x 21mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Absolute Classics
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Plays for One Person by David Pownall

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays for One Person book by David Pownall and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Pownall

David Pownall is one of Britain's leading playwrights. His collected plays published by Oberon Books include Masterclass, Music to Murder By, Elgar's Rondo, Elgar's Third (The Composer Plays), Njinsky: Death of a Faun and six award-winning radio plays, including The Epiphanous Use of the Microphone, commissioned to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the first ever broadcast of a play on the 'wireless'.

Books By David Pownall

Writing Master Class by David Pownall
Paperback, August 2013
Innocent Screams by David Pownall
Paperback, March 2009
Lancaster Plays by David Pownall
Paperback, April 2006
Dream of Chief Crazy Horse by David Pownall
Paperback, June 2003