Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Plays 2 by Alexander Ostrovsky

Four of Ostrovsky's finest plays. The best known of these, The Forest (1871), has two young lovers in thrall to their tyrannical elders, who are prevented from marrying until a pair of strolling actors come to their rescue. In Artistes and Admirers (1881), a comedy of theatre life, a dedicated young actress renounces both love and fortune in order to pursue her sacred calling. In the comedy Wolves and Sheep (1875) Ostrovsky returns to a favourite theme, the double-dealing and hypocrisy of the Russian landowning classes, while the melodrama Sin and Sorrow (1863) explores the tragic consequences of a bored provincial wife's brief affair.

Buy Plays 2 by Alexander Ostrovsky from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840021981
ISBN-10: 1840021985
Format: Paperback
Pages: 375
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Plays 2 by Alexander Ostrovsky

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays 2 book by Alexander Ostrovsky and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Alexander Ostrovsky

Stephen Mulrine is a Glasgow-born poet and playwright who has written extensively for radio and television, and published many translations.

Books By Alexander Ostrovsky

Ostrovsky:'the Storm' by Alexander Ostrovsky
Paperback, September 2002
Storm by Alexander Ostrovsky
Paperback, November 1998
Four Plays by Alexander Ostrovsky
Paperback, May 1997
Too Clever by Half by Alexander Ostrovsky
Paperback, August 1988