Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Heartfire by Orson Scott Card

Peggy is a Torch, able to see the fire burning in each person's heart. She can follow the paths of each person's future, and know each person's most intimate secrets. From the moment of Alvin Maker's birth, when the Unmaker first strove to kill him, she has protected him.Now they are married, and Peggy is a part of Alvin's heart as well as his life.But Alvin's destiny has taken them on separate journeys. Alvin has gone north into New England, where knacks are considered witchcraft, and their use is punished by death. Peggy has been drawn south, to the British Crown Colonies and the court of King Arthur Stuart in exile. For she has seen a terrible future bloom in the heartfires of every person in America, a future of war and destruction. One slender path exists that leads through the bloodshed, and it is Peggy's quest to set the world on that path to peace. Look out for more information on this and other Orbit titles on the Orbit website at

Buy Heartfire by Orson Scott Card from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781841490328
ISBN-10: 1841490326
Format: Paperback
(177mm x 109mm x 23mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Orbit
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 5-Apr-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Heartfire by Orson Scott Card

US Kirkus Review » Another in Card's superior fantasy series about Alvin Smith (Alvin Journeymen, 1995, etc.), set in an alternate world where magic works-people are born with "knacks" - and America is divided among a tiny Union, various European colonies, and inviolable Red territory west of the Mizzipy River. Alvin, a Maker-his magic is creative, holistic, and used only for good-has married his boyhood sweetheart, Margaret, and adopted the former slave boy Arthur Stuart. Margaret-her knack is to read a person's heartfire, and thus glimpse their future-will travel south to meet the exiled king of England, Arthur Stuart, in his court at Camelot and attempt to persuade him to end slavery in the Crown Colonies (any alternative, so Margaret has foreseen, will be a dreadful slaughter). Alvin, meanwhile, journeys north to New England, where he will deploy both magic and legal wizardry to overthrow the corrupt and oppressive system of justice that declares those who have knacks to be evil witches. That mission accomplished, Alvin will raise his brother Calvin from the dead after Calvin will have been killed helping Margaret in her crusade against slavery. Alvin continues to mature and gain confidence, although neither accomplishment here brings him any closer to discovering how to use the living gold plow he has crafted, or to an understanding of the vision of the Crystal City shown him years ago by the Red Prophet. One more absorbing entry in this brilliantly conceived and fetchingly rendered series. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Heartfire book by Orson Scott Card and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card is the award-winning author of the Ender saga, the Alvin Maker series and the Homecoming series. He lives with his wife and three children in the US.

Books By Orson Scott Card

Prentice Alvin and Alvin Journeyman by Orson Scott Card
Paperback, April 2017
Esperanza del Venado by Orson Scott Card
Paperback / softback, September 2016
Gatefather by Orson Scott Card
Paperback, September 2016
Memory of Earth and the Call of Earth by Orson Scott Card
Paperback / softback, May 2016