Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

The books' titles are taken from actual streets in Cairo, the city of Mahfouz's childhood and youth. The trilogy follows the life of the Cairene patriarch al-Sayyid Ahmad Abd al-Jawad and his family across three generations, from World War I to the overthrow of King Farouk in 1952.

Buy Mahfouz Trilogy book by Naguib Mahfouz from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781841593050
ISBN-10: 1841593052
Format: Hardback
(165mm x 111mm x 17mm)
Pages: 632
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 5-Apr-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mahfouz Trilogy book by Naguib Mahfouz and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz was born in Cairo in 1911 and began writing when he was seventeen. A student of philosophy and an avid reader, his works range from reimaginings of ancient myths to subtle commentaries on contemporary Egyptian politics and culture. Over a career that lasted more than five decades, he wrote 33 novels, 13 short story anthologies, numerous plays, and 30 screenplays. Of his many works, most famous is The Cairo Trilogy, consisting of Palace Walk (1956), Palace of Desire (1957), and Sugar Street (1957), which focuses on a Cairo family through three generations, from 1917 until 1952. In 1988, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, the first writer in Arabic to do so. He died in August 2006.

Books By Author Naguib Mahfouz

On Literature and Philosophy by Naguib Mahfouz

On Literature and Philosophy

Hardback, June 2016
Before the Throne by Naguib Mahfouz

Before the Throne

Paperback / softback, August 2012
Cairo of Naguib Mahfouz by Naguib Mahfouz

The Cairo of Naguib Mahfouz

Hardback, July 2012