Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Dain Curse, The Glass Key, and Selected Stories by Dashiell Hammett

With his diamond-sharp prose and artfully handled intrigue, Dashiell Hammett virtually invented hard-boiled crime fiction. This omnibus edition includes four linked stories - 'The House in Turk Street', 'The Girl with the Silver Eyes', 'The Big Knockover' and '$106,000 Blood Money - featuring the Continental Op, Hammett's anonymous tough-guy detective. In The Dain Curse, the Op takes on a wealthy young woman who appears to be the victim of a deadly family curse. And in The Glass Key - Hammett's own favourite among his works - we encounter his most cynical, morally ambiguous hero and a hard-boiled version of a love triangle. In the works collected here, we can observe the process by which Hammett both stripped crime fiction down to its most subtle and searing essentials and elevated it to high literature.

Buy The Dain Curse, The Glass Key, and Selected Stories by Dashiell Hammett from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781841593074
ISBN-10: 1841593079
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 140mm x 35mm)
Pages: 688
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 15-Sep-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Dain Curse, The Glass Key, and Selected Stories by Dashiell Hammett

Book Reviews - The Dain Curse, The Glass Key, and Selected Stories by Dashiell Hammett

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Dain Curse, The Glass Key, and Selected Stories book by Dashiell Hammett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Dashiell Hammett

Samuel Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961) is recognized as the first master of hard-boiled detective fiction. His lean writing style, cynical characters and complex plots brought a new energy to pulp magazines then went on to define the genre in movies, radio and television where the private eye series became an entertainment staple. ammett wrote more than 80 short stories and five novels- "Red Harvest" (1929), "The Dain Curse" (1929), "The Maltese Falcon" (1930), "The Glass Key" (1931) and "The Thin Man" (1934). He created tough guys Sam Spade and the Continental Op as well as debonaire sleuths Nick and Nora Charles. He wrote a comic strip ("Secret Agent X-9"), an original radio series ("The Fat Man") and worked on numerous scripts, often simply to polish dialogue. Hammett's crisp, colorful language brought gangster slang into everyday speech. INTRODUCER BIOGRAPHY- ames Ellroy is the author of The Black Dahlia, My Dark Places and L. A. Confidential.

Books By Dashiell Hammett

Big Book of the Continental Op by Dashiell Hammett
Paperback, November 2017
Secret Agent X-9 by Dashiell Hammett
Hardback, May 2015
Hunter and Other Stories by Dashiell Hammett
Paperback, October 2014
Return of the Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett
Paperback, October 2013