Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Four Novels by Claire Messud

Readers everywhere were introduced to the work of Irene Nemirovsky through the publication of her long-lost masterpiece, "Suite Francaise". But "Suite Francaise" was only a coda to the brief yet remarkably prolific career of this nearly forgotten, yet hugely talented novelist, who fled Russia for Paris after the Revolution and died at Auschwitz at the age of 39. Here in one volume are four of Nemirovsky's other novels - all of them newly translated by the award-winning Sandra Smith, and all, except "David Golder", available in English for the first time."David Golder" is the book that established Nemirovsky's reputation in France in 1929 when she was twenty-six. It is a novel about greed and loneliness, the story of an ageing Russian Jewish businessman, an exile in France, learning to confront death and the knowledge that wealth has not brought him happiness. "The Ball" is both a sensitive exploration of adolescence and a merciless exposure of bourgeois social pretension. "Snow in Autumn" is an evocative tale of White Russian emigres in Paris, while in "The Courilof Affair" a retired Russian revolutionary recalls an infamous assassination committed in his youth. This volume is introduced by novelist Claire Messud.

Buy Four Novels by Claire Messud from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781841593081
ISBN-10: 1841593087
Format: Hardback
(212mm x 130mm x 25mm)
Pages: 408
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 11-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Four Novels by Claire Messud

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Four Novels book by Claire Messud and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Claire Messud

Irene Nemirovsky was born in Kiev in 1903, the daughter of a successful Jewish banker. In 1918 her family fled the Russian Revolution for France where she became a bestselling novelist, author of David Golder, All Our Worldly Goods, The Dogs and the Wolves and other works published in her lifetime or soon after, such as the posthumously published Suite Francaise and Fire in the Blood. She was prevented from publishing when the Germans occupied France and moved with her husband and two small daughters from Paris to the safety of the small village of Issy-l'Eveque (in German occupied territory). It was here that Irene began writing Suite Francaise. She died in Auschwitz in 1942.

Books By Claire Messud

Burning Girl by Claire Messud
Hardback, September 2017
When Memory Comes by Claire Messud
Hardback, November 2016
Strangers on a Train by Claire Messud
Hardback, September 2016
Emperor's Children by Claire Messud
Paperback, August 2015