Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Lying Carpet by David Lucas

Imagine a disused living room in a grand house. In it is a tiger rug and a statue of a little girl. But is the tiger a real tiger, a fake or a magical carpet? Is the little girl real but bewitched or just a stone statue and will she ever come to life? By turns comical and lugubrious, the tiger gives the little girl plenty of versions of the truth, but how will she decide what is true and will she be able to break free? A parable about outgrowing your childhood and becoming what you want to be, this is a book for anyone who has ever felt 'stuck' in their circumstances. 'A Honeybee, fat with nectar, nocked on the Window and said- The Truth is Bitter and Lies are Sweet, ut the Truth is better for you." "That's all very well," said a Fly, trapped inside, but on this side of the glass, Truth and Lies are one."' 'Reading The Lying Carpet, is a dreamy experience - the language is lovely; the free verse has an offbeat rhythm; the illustrations are breathtaking'. - New York Times

Buy The Lying Carpet by David Lucas from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781842704417
ISBN-10: 1842704419
Format: Hardback
(238mm x 218mm x 13mm)
Pages: 80
Imprint: Andersen Press Ltd
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Oct-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Lying Carpet by David Lucas

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lying Carpet book by David Lucas and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Lucas

David Lucas was born in 1966 in Middlesborough, in the north of England. He grew up in Hackney, in East London, and studied illustration at the Royal College of Art. He lives and works in central London.

Books By David Lucas

This is My Rock by David Lucas
Hardback, March 2015
Grendel: A Cautionary Tale About Chocolate by David Lucas
Paperback, February 2014
Letter for Bear by David Lucas
Hardback, November 2013
Skeleton Pirate by David Lucas
Hardback, May 2013