Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Bjorn Hansen, a respectable town treasurer, has just turned fifty and is horrified by the thought that chance has ruled his life. Eighteen years ago he left his wife and their two-year-old son for his mistress, who persuaded him to start afresh in a small, provincial town and to dabble in amateur dramatics. In time that relationship also faded, and after four years of living alone Bjorn contemplates an extraordinary course of action that will change his life for ever. He finds a fellow conspirator in Dr Schiotz, who has a secret of his own and offers to help Bjorn carry his preposterous and dangerous plan through to its logical conclusion. However, the sudden reappearance of his son both fills Bjorn with new hope and complicates matters. The desire to gamble with his comfortable existence proves irresistible, however, taking him to Vilnius in Lithuania, where very soon he cannot tell whether he's tangled up in a game or reality. Novel 11, Book 18, for which Dag Solstad received the Norwegian Critics' Prize for Literature, is an uncompromising and concentrated existential novel that accommodates all of the author's fundamental themes.

Buy Novel 11, Book 18 book by Dag Solstad from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781843432111
ISBN-10: 1843432110
Format: Hardback
(196mm x 119mm x 24mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Harvill Secker
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 6-Nov-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Novel 11, Book 18 book by Dag Solstad and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Dag Solstad

Dag Solstad has been a central figure in Norwegian literature since his debut in 1965 and is now considered to be the country's leading contemporary author. His work has consistently won critical acclaim and numerous Norwegian literary prizes. His first novel to be translated into English, Shyness and Dignity, was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize in 2006.

Books By Author Dag Solstad

Novel 11, Book 18 by Dag Solstad

Novel 11, Book 18

Paperback, March 2017
Professor Andersen's Night by Dag Solstad

Professor Andersen's Night

Paperback, November 2012
Shyness and Dignity by Dag Solstad

Shyness and Dignity

Paperback / softback, July 2006