Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

This is the deeply moving story of three women and their love affairs, and a young man who has been in prison, for what we are not sure. It's 1947. The war has ended but its after-shocks linger. Kay, active during the war, when she drove an ambulance, lived full throttle and tended the passionate love she held for Helen, now seeks relief from aimlessess on nocturnal prowls. Helen works side by side with Viv in a dating agency, but Kay isn't the only one to harbour night-time secrets. Helen and Viv have theirs too. Viv's younger brother, Duncan, is the innocent, but the most mysterious of them all. What exactly did he do during the war? Moving back through time, through air raids, blacked-out streets, illicit partying and sexual adventure, to end with its beginning in 1941, this new novel - melancholic, tender, tragic and beautiful - is marvellously realised, capturing the 1940s in ways reminiscent of Graham Greene, Elizabeth Bowen and Muriel Spark. It is a triumph.

Buy The Night Watch by Sarah Waters from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781844082469
ISBN-10: 1844082466
Format: Hardback
(222mm x 142mm x 40mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Virago Press Ltd
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 2-Feb-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Night Watch book by Sarah Waters and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Sarah Waters

Sarah Waters Sarah Waters was born in Wales in 1966. She has been shortlisted for the Man Booker and Orange prizes and has won The South Bank Show Award and The Somerset Maugham Award. Four of her novels have been adapted for television. She has been named as author of the Year four times - by the Booksellers Association, Sunday Times, Waterstone's and The British Book Awards.

Books By Sarah Waters

Tipping The Velvet by Sarah Waters
Hardback, January 2018
Los Huespedes de Pago by Sarah Waters
Paperback, July 2017
Night Watch by Sarah Waters
Paperback, May 2016
Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
Paperback, September 2015