Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Sugar House by Antonia White

The year is 1920. Clara Batchelor, the heroine of The Lost Traveller, is now an actress with a touring repertory company and is passionately in love with the wholly unsuitable Stephen Tye. When Stephen betrays her, Clara betrays herself by agreeing to marry Archie, the fiance' she discarded four years before. A friendship but not a love match, the marriage is a desperate attempt by Clara to rekindle the safety of childhood. But neither of them are children any more and their dream sugar house begins to dissolve.The Sugar House is the second in the trilogy sequel to Frost in May, which began with The Lost Traveller and continues in Beyond the Glass. Although each is a complete novel in itself, together they form a brilliant portrait of a young girl's journey to adulthood.

Buy The Sugar House by Antonia White from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781844083794
ISBN-10: 1844083799
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: Virago Press Ltd
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 3-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Sugar House by Antonia White

Book Reviews - The Sugar House by Antonia White

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sugar House book by Antonia White and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Antonia White

Antonia White was born in 1899 and educated at in London at St. Paul's and RADA. She worked as a journalist and in the Foreign Office, had four novels published and translated

Books By Antonia White

Lost Traveller by Antonia White
Paperback, August 2006
Beyond The Glass by Antonia White
Paperback, August 2006
Frost In May by Antonia White
Paperback, August 2006
Claudine At School by Antonia White
Paperback, June 2001