Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Modern British History by Mark Garnett

Modern British History is a comprehensive, entertaining survey of the events, people and themes that make us who we are, written by two of the country's leading scholars of the subject. In 200 concise essays, covering topics as diverse as pornography and the poll tax, the Blitz and New Labour, the authors explore the interwoven culture, society, politics and economics of the recent past. Bombarded by information as never before, we all need to appreciate the extent to which seemingly disparate events connect with other. This Essential A - Z guide offers a consistent line of argument with a refreshing disrespect for old orthodoxie. Read separately, its entries are a mine of useful information; taken together, they build a vivid, compelling and controversial picture of Britain at the start of the twenty-first century.

Buy Modern British History by Mark Garnett from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781844131044
ISBN-10: 1844131041
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 128mm x 34mm)
Pages: 528
Imprint: Pimlico
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jun-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Modern British History by Mark Garnett

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Modern British History book by Mark Garnett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mark Garnett

Mark Garnett is the co-author of Whatever Happened to the Tories (1997), Keith Joseph: A Life (2001), and Splendid! Splendid! The Authorized Biography of Willie Whitelaw (2002). Richard Weight is a cultural and social historian, currently a Visiting Professor at the University of Boston. A regular broadcaster and a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the Royal Society of the Arts, he is the author of Patriots: National Identity in Britain 1940-2000 (2002).

Books By Mark Garnett

British Foreign Policy Since 1945 by Mark Garnett
Paperback, July 2017
Conservatism and Ideology by Mark Garnett
Paperback, May 2017
Exploring British Politics by Mark Garnett
Hardback, April 2016
British General Elections Since 1964 by Mark Garnett
Hardback, February 2014