1300 36 33 32

Cook was the greatest explorer of his age and his voyages of discovery are the stuff of legend. During two long journeys, he circumnavigated the globe twice, charted the east coast of Australia, the whole of New Zealand and many islands in the Pacific. "The Fatal Voyage" is the story of Cook's final journey when he led his most dangerous and fabled expedition to search for the elusive Pacific entrance to the North West Passage. He set sail from England in July 1776 and along the way discovered the Hawaiian archipelago before mapping and charting the formidable north west coast of America, from Vancouver Island to the frozen northern coastline of Alaska. He sailed through the Bering Straits and although his ships reached the entrance to the North West Passage they were defeated by a sheer wall of ice blocking their way. Cook returned to Hawaii to rest, but a series of misjudgments between his men and the islanders sparked a violent clash in which Cook was killed at Kealakekua Bay. Peter Aughton has here used letters, log records and the diaries of those involved in the voyage to tell an enthralling account of James Cook's last days at sea and reveal the extraordinary legacy he left behind.

Buy Fatal Voyage book by Peter Aughton from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781845114046
ISBN-10: 1845114043
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 126mm x 17mm)
Pages: 216
Imprint: Tauris Parke Paperbacks
Publisher: I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Mar-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Fatal Voyage book by Peter Aughton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Peter Aughton

Peter Aughton is a visiting lecturer at the University of the West of England and is the author of several acclaimed books, including Newton's Apple, The Transit of Venus and two other books on Captain Cook, Endeavour and Resolution.

Books By Author Peter Aughton

Transit of Venus by Peter Aughton

The Transit of Venus

Paperback, March 2012
Story of Astronomy by Peter Aughton

The Story of Astronomy

Paperback, November 2011
St Mary Redcliffe by Peter Aughton

St Mary Redcliffe

Paperback, June 2008