Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Supercontinent by Ted Nield

Two hundred and fifty million years from now, all the landmasses on Earth will come together in a single supercontinent - not the first to form on the planet, nor the last. It is scarcely a century since we first understood how Pangaea, the supercontinent which dinosaurs roamed, split apart, but scientists can now look back three-quarters of a billion years to reconstruct Pangaea's predecessor, and computer-model the shape of the Earth's far-distant future.Ted Nield tells the story of how that science emerged, from the Atlantis-seeking visionaries and madmen who have been imagining lost continents for centuries to the scientists today who are drawing information out of the oldest rocks on Earth.Supercontinent will appeal to readers who enjoyed Simon Winchester's The Map That Changed the World and Richard Fortey's The Earth: An Intimate Biography.

Buy Supercontinent by Ted Nield from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781847080417
ISBN-10: 1847080413
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 133mm x mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Granta Books
Publisher: Granta Books
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Supercontinent by Ted Nield

Book Reviews - Supercontinent by Ted Nield

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Supercontinent book by Ted Nield and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Ted Nield

Ted Nield holds a doctorate in geology and currently works for the Geology Society of London, where he is Editor of their monthly magazine Geoscientist. He is Chair of the British Association of Science Writers and Chair of the Outreach Programme of the International Year of the Earth, a UN-backed venture. He lives in London.

Books By Ted Nield

Underlands by Ted Nield
Paperback, May 2015
$29.18
Incoming! by Ted Nield
Paperback, February 2012
$22.49
Supercontinent by Ted Nield
Paperback, April 2009
$40.37