Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - When Then is Now by Brendan Kennelly

"When Then is Now" brings together Brendan Kennelly's modern versions of three Greek tragedies. All three plays dramatise timeless human dilemmas as relevant now as they were in ancient times. All focus on women whose lives are torn apart by war, family conflict and despotic regimes. In his preface, Brendan Kennelly describes how writing these three plays helped him enormously at difficult times in his own life. "When Then is Now" gives living testament of his belief that 'listening to ancient voices can help us confront, understand and express many problems of today'.

Buy When Then is Now by Brendan Kennelly from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781852247430
ISBN-10: 1852247436
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 14mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: Bloodaxe Books Ltd
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books Ltd
Publish Date: 10-Oct-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - When Then is Now by Brendan Kennelly

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about When Then is Now book by Brendan Kennelly and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Brendan Kennelly

brendan kennelly is one of Ireland's most distinguished and best loved poets, as well as a renowned teacher and cultural commentator. Born in 1936 in Ballylongford, Co. Kerry, he was Professor of Modern Literature at Trinity College, Dublin for over 30 years, and retired from teaching in 2005. He has published over 30 books of poetry, including Cromwell, Familiar Strangers: New & Selected Poems 1960-2004, Glimpses, The Man Made of Rain, Martial Art, Poetry My Arse, and The Book of Judas (which topped the Irish bestsellers list). All these are available separately from Bloodaxe, the latter shortened to The Little Book of Judas.

Books By Brendan Kennelly

Guff by Brendan Kennelly
Paperback, October 2013
Essential Brendan Kennelly by Brendan Kennelly
Paperback, October 2011
Reservoir Voices by Brendan Kennelly
Paperback, May 2009
Familiar Strangers by Brendan Kennelly
Paperback, May 2004