Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Plays of Sophocles by A. F. Garvie

The emphasis throughout this book, aimed at late school and early university students, is on Sophocles' tragic thinking, on the concept of the 'Sophoclean hero', and on the dramatic structure of the plays. A brief concluding chapter draws together what has been said in the seven studies of the individual plays. The aim of the book is to help readers to understand why Sophocles is still worth reading, or going to see in the theatre, in the twenty-first century, and to show how far Sophoclean scholarship has moved in recent decades from the once prevalent view that he was a pious religious conformist who had nothing very profound or original to say, but who said it very beautifully.

Buy The Plays of Sophocles by A. F. Garvie from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781853996801
ISBN-10: 1853996807
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Bristol Classical Press
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 30-Sep-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Plays of Sophocles by A. F. Garvie

Book Reviews - The Plays of Sophocles by A. F. Garvie

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays of Sophocles book by A. F. Garvie and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - A. F. Garvie

Alex Garvie is Emeritus Professor of Greek (and Honorary Professorial Research Fellow), University of Glasgow. He is the author of editions of Aeschylus Supplices: play and trilogy (1969); Aeschylus Choephori (1986); Homer Odyssey VI-VIII (1994); and Sophocles Ajax (1998).

Books By A. F. Garvie

Plays of Sophocles by A. F. Garvie
Paperback, October 2016
Plays of Aeschylus by A. F. Garvie
Paperback, October 2016
Aeschylus: Persae by A. F. Garvie
Hardback, August 2009
Homer: Odyssey Books VI-VIII by A. F. Garvie
Paperback, December 1994