Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope was well aware that the seemingly parochial power struggles that determine the action of Barchester Towers - struggles whose comic possibilities he exploits to hilarious effect - actually went to the heart of mid-Victorian English society, and had, in other times and other guises, led to civil war and constitutional upheaval. That awareness heightens the comedy and intensifies the drama in this magnificent novel and it transforms the story of a fight for ascendency among the clergy and dependants of a great English cathedral into something fundamental and universal. Barchester Towers is the second of Trollope's six Barchester Novels, all published by Everyman's Library.

Buy Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857150575
ISBN-10: 1857150570
Format: Hardback
(211mm x 33mm x 135mm)
Pages: 278
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 19-Mar-1992
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope

UK Kirkus Review » Barchester Towers stands alone, in common with every novel in the Barsetshire series of which it is the second. It tells the story of the struggle for a cathedral town's soul between the new bishop's reforming wife Mrs Proudie (a telling name for a woman rightly remembered as one of the great creations of Victorian fiction) and her scheming cohort, the chaplain Obadiah Slope, and the conservative forces of Barchester who are led by Archedaecon Grantly, the late bishop's son. This comic novel, with its romantic subplots, made Trollope's name with the Victorian reading public and its inspired charaterization and depiction of the clash between old and new make it every bit as readable today. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Barchester Towers book by Anthony Trollope and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope was born on 24 April 1815 and attended both Harrow and Winchester schools. His family were poor and eventually were forced to move to Belgium, where his father died. His mother, Frances Trollope, supported the family through writing. Trollope began a life-long career in the civil service with a position as a clerk in the General Post Office in London - he is also credited with later introducing the pillar box. He published his first novel, The Macdermots of Ballycloran in 1847, but his fourth novel, The Warden (1855) began the series of 'Barsetshire' novels for which he was to become best known. This series of five novels featuring interconnecting characters spanned twenty years of Trollope's career as a novelist, as did the 'Palliser' series. He wrong over 47 novels in total, as well as short stories, biographies, travel books and his own autobiography, which was published posthumously in 1883. Trollope resigned from the Post Office in 1867 and stood for Parliament as a Liberal, though he was not elected. He died on 6 December 1882.

Books By Anthony Trollope

Can You Forgive Her? by Anthony Trollope
Paperback, September 2017
Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope
Paperback, July 2017
Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope
Paperback, July 2017
Duke's Children by Anthony Trollope
Hardback, April 2017