Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, Catch-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down. Catch-22 was made into a film.

Buy Catch-22 book by Joseph Heller from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857152203
ISBN-10: 1857152204
Format: Hardback
(211mm x 33mm x 135mm)
Pages: 569
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 21-Sep-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » The phrase, now maddeningly misused by politicians and DJs alike, came from this wonderfully dark and cynical anti-war novel of the 1960s. (Catch-22 states that a man can be exempted from bombing missions if he is mad; but that the desire to be exempted is proof that he is sane.) The novel is as funny as it is bitter and no-one growing up through the Falklands and Gulf conflicts will fail to see the point. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Catch-22 book by Joseph Heller and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Books By Author Joseph Heller

Work by Joseph Heller

Work

Paperback, June 2017
$7.19
Closing Time by Joseph Heller

Closing Time

Paperback, June 2016
$19.31
Catch as Catch Can by Joseph Heller

Catch as Catch Can

Paperback, June 2016
$20.69
Stern Gang by Joseph Heller

The Stern Gang

Paperback, December 2015
$63.89