Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This is a dazzling collection of early stories and later fragments which throw an entirely new light on Jane Austen. In particular, they reveal a precociously brilliant genius with a talent for broad comedy and even farce. Most of the pieces in this collection are very funny indeed, and several - including the novella Lady Susan and the unfinished novel Sandition are also neglected masterpieces. Other material includes the celebrated History Of England, poems, prayers, the Plan of a Novel, etc. The volume is arranged in two parts, with the mature stories in Part 1 edited for easy reading, and the juvenilia collected by Austen herself presented exactly as she wrote them in Part 2. It includes everything she wrote apart from letters and the six famous novels, and is the final volume in the complete Everyman edition of her works now available in seven uniform volumes.

Buy Sanditon book by Jane Austen from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857152258
ISBN-10: 1857152255
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 30mm x 136mm)
Pages: 502
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 28-Mar-1996
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


UK Kirkus Review » A marvellous collection for Jane Austen fans. Although written when in her teens these stories already reflect Austen's distinct vision of life. Lady Susan is a series of letters between the flirtatious and scheming Susan and those whose lives she meddles in - to much more devastating effect than Emma Woodhouse. The centrepiece of the book is the great unfinished Sanditon, written at the height of her powers the novel follows the Parkers, a couple at odds with each other and the Denhams, an impoverished gentry family. Not to be missed. (Kirkus UK)

US Kirkus Review » That "Other Lady," having undertaken in 1974 to complete Miss Austen's unfinished 1817 novel of eleven chapters, and having struggled to remain upright on the hard high road of Austen prose, is to be complimented for redirecting our attention to Sanditon. Does she succeed in maintaining Austen's pace? Of course not, but then, as a Sanditon gentleman points out, ". . .we are sent into this world to be as extensively useful as possible." (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sanditon book by Jane Austen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jane Austen

Jane Austen was born in Steventon rectory on 16 December 1775. Her family later moved to Bath, then to Southampton and finally to Chawton in Hampshire. She began writing Pride and Prejudice when she was twenty-two years old. It was originally called First Impressions and was initially rejected by the publishers and only published in 1813 after much revision. She published four of her novels in her lifetime, Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1816). Jane Austen died on 18th July 1817. Northanger Abbey and Persuasion were both published posthumously in 1818.

Books By Author Jane Austen

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Mansfield Park

Paperback, April 2017
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Northanger Abbey

Paperback, April 2017
Teenage Writings by Jane Austen

Teenage Writings

Paperback, March 2017