Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Sixty-one when she published her first novel, Penelope Fitzgerald based many subsequent books on the experiences of a long and varied life. Offshore, which won the Booker Prize in 1979, explores her time living on a barge at Battersea Reach. Human Voices takes place in the BBC where she worked during World War II. Both are vivid, intimate pictures of ordinary life, startling, sad and funny by turns, conjuring up complex worlds with the economy of poetry. The Beginning of Spring is an historical novel operating on a larger canvas. It presents a life unknown to the author through a story of English emigres in pre-Revolutionary Russia and has been described by one critic as the best 'Russian' novel of the twentieth century. Written with energy, passion and wit, and each quite different from the others, all three of these masterpieces reveal a lightness of touch with the most serious matters unlike anything else in contemporary fiction.

Buy Offshore, Human Voices, the Beginning of Spring book by Penelope Fitzgerald from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857152692
ISBN-10: 1857152697
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 135mm x 30mm)
Pages: 512
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman
Publish Date: 4-Sep-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Offshore, Human Voices, the Beginning of Spring book by Penelope Fitzgerald and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Penelope Fitzgerald

Gate of Angels by Penelope Fitzgerald

The Gate of Angels

Paperback / softback, October 2015
Human Voices by Penelope Fitzgerald

Human Voices

Paperback / softback, August 2015
Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald

The Bookshop

Paperback / softback, June 2015
Beginning of Spring by Penelope Fitzgerald

The Beginning of Spring

Paperback / softback, April 2015