Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Collected Poems by Iain Crichton-Smith

As a child Iain Crichton Smith spoke Gaelic in his village on the island of Lewis. At school in Stornoway he spoke English. Like many islanders before and since, his culture is divided: two languages, two histories entailing exile, a central theme of his poetry in both tongues. His divided perspective sharply delineates the tyranny of history and religion, of the cramped life of small communities; it also gives him a tender eye for the struggle of women and men in a world defined by denials. "Collected Poems" includes forty years' work and proves that big themes - love, history, power, submission, death - can be addressed without the foil of irony and acquire resonance when given a local habitation and a voice that risks pure, impassioned speech.

Buy Collected Poems by Iain Crichton-Smith from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857542455
ISBN-10: 1857542452
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Carcanet Press Ltd
Publisher: Carcanet Press Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Dec-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Collected Poems by Iain Crichton-Smith

Book Reviews - Collected Poems by Iain Crichton-Smith

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Poems book by Iain Crichton-Smith and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Iain Crichton-Smith

IAIN CRICHTON SMITH was born in 1928 on the island of Lewis. Educated at Aberdeen University, he became a teacher after national service. In 1977 he resigned to write full time. He received many awards, including the OBE in 1980. He died in 1998. Carcanet publish his Selected Poems (1985), Collected Poems (1992, paper-back 1996), Ends and Beginnings (1995), The Human Face (1997), The Leaf and the Marble (1998) and Selected Stories (1990).

Books By Iain Crichton-Smith

After the Dance by Iain Crichton-Smith
Paperback, September 2017
New Collected Poems by Iain Crichton-Smith
Paperback, January 2011
Consider the Lilies by Iain Crichton-Smith
Paperback, December 2001
Black Halo by Iain Crichton-Smith
Paperback, November 2001