Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The House Of Splendid Isolation by Edna O'Brien

Josie, the ailing, elderly inhabitant of an Irish country mansion, dwells in the shadowy world of remembered pain and loneliness. McGreevy, the terrorist, reintroduces the possibility of compassion and tenderness, but there is an inevitably violent conclusion to their understanding as the police net closes. With extraordinary skill and empathy, Edna O'Brien shows two faces of a divided land: the yearnings of a woman whose youthful joy was broken, and the intransigent idealism of her captor. Brave and moving, THE HOUSE OF SPLENDID ISOLATION is Edna O'Brien at her very best.

Buy The House Of Splendid Isolation by Edna O'Brien from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781857992090
ISBN-10: 1857992091
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 156mm x 17mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 3-Apr-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The House Of Splendid Isolation by Edna O'Brien

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about House Of Splendid Isolation book by Edna O'Brien and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Edna O'Brien

Edna O'Brien is the author of 19 books. She was the winner of the 1993 Writers' Guild Prize for Fiction. Her biography of James Joyce was published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in June 1999. Her recent fiction has been about Irish to;pic - religion, politics, property. In 2001 her documentary novel, In the Forest - about a brutal murder on the west coast - caused a furore in her native Ireland. It was the subject of a BBC Omnibus film.

Books By Edna O'Brien

Country Girls Trilogy and Epilogue by Edna O'Brien
Paperback, November 2017
Tales for the Telling by Edna O'Brien
Hardback, October 2017
Country Girls Trilogy by Edna O'Brien
Paperback, September 2017
Country Girls by Edna O'Brien
Paperback, June 2017