1300 36 33 32

"Challenging Homophobia" brings together accounts of how educators in various national and cultural contexts are dealing with prejudice, discrimination, stereotyping and sometimes overt violence against sexual minorities, particularly lesbian and gay youth and adults. The contributors emphasise the importance of changing the prejudicial attitudes of people who believe that their homophobic views on sexuality are morally superior. The book provides a valuable combination of reflections on the underlying psychological and social processes and suggestions for better educational practice, including tested lesson plans and inspiring resources for challenging the social ill of homophobia. With its insights into the effective and creative methods developed in nine different countries to address homophobia, this book is essential for educators, students and learners and will interest academic readers.

Buy Challenging Homophobia book by Lutz van Dijk from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781858564135
ISBN-10: 1858564131
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 156mm x 12mm)
Pages: 207
Imprint: Trentham Books Ltd
Publisher: Institute of Education Press
Publish Date: 17-Sep-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Challenging Homophobia book by Lutz van Dijk and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Lutz van Dijk

Lutz van Dijk (South Africa) Barry van Driel (Belgium) Elisabeth Atkinson and Renee DePalma; Debbie Epstein and Sarah O'Flynn (UK) Dawn Betteridge, Lutz van Dijk (South Africa) Peter Dankmeijer (the Netherlands) Melinda L de Jesus and Michele Kahn (USA) Darren Lund (Canada) Stefan Timmermanns (Germany) Krzysztof Zablocki (Poland) With a foreword by Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Laureate and Archbishop emeritus.

Books By Author Lutz van Dijk

Themba by Lutz van Dijk


Paperback, October 2011