Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Modern Britain Since 1906 by Keith Laybourn

Based on a wide range of primary and secondary sources - parliamentary debates, public speeches, official papers, press reports, journal and magazine articles, memoirs, and works on history and politics - this reader addresses the momentous changes which the 20th century has brought to British life. The introductions provide historiography, and serve as a students' guide for reading, use of sources, and summary of the major themes of the period. The major themes cover political, social, cultural and economic history, and include political realignment - the rise of Labour, the decline of the Liberals, Conservative dominance, and the failure of minority parties - the expansion of the Welfare State and its problems, British industrial and economic decline, and sea-change in British culture, including the problems of racial conflict.

Buy Modern Britain Since 1906 by Keith Laybourn from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781860642982
ISBN-10: 1860642985
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 156mm x mm)
Pages: 350
Imprint: I.B.Tauris
Publisher: I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd.
Publish Date: 10-Dec-1999
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Modern Britain Since 1906 by Keith Laybourn

Book Reviews - Modern Britain Since 1906 by Keith Laybourn

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Modern Britain Since 1906 book by Keith Laybourn and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Keith Laybourn

Keith Laybourn is Professor of History at the University of Huddersfield.

Books By Keith Laybourn

Labour and Working-Class Lives by Keith Laybourn
Hardback, April 2017
Marxism in Britain by Keith Laybourn
Paperback, July 2015
Britain's First Labour Government by Keith Laybourn
Paperback, October 2006