Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Killing Dragons by Fergus Fleming

'Here be dragons', said the old maps. In the late 18th century a few brave men started to venture up the mountains of Switzerland to discover the secrets hidden in their snowy peaks. They took with them wine and brandy, wore ordinary shoes and had no protective clothing. Then the British arrived: a gallery of strange, obsessive explorers bent on conquering every Alpine summit. 'Mountaineering' was born. Killing Dragons is a funny, wicked and witty history of the conquest of the Alps: full of wonderful and quite mad characters, it is impossible to put down.

Buy Killing Dragons by Fergus Fleming from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781862074538
ISBN-10: 1862074534
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 132mm x mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Granta Books
Publisher: Granta Books
Publish Date: 22-Aug-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Killing Dragons by Fergus Fleming

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Killing Dragons book by Fergus Fleming and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Fergus Fleming

Fergus Fleming is a freelance writer living in London W8 and Gloucestershire. Educated at Oxford University and City University, London, he trained as an accountant and barrister and has worked as a furniture maker. Fergus is also the author of Amaryllis, a portrait of his aunt, and of several children's books. His recent non-fiction book Barrow's Boys, is published by Granta Books.

Books By Fergus Fleming

Farthest North by Fergus Fleming
Paperback, January 2017
Stone Age Sentinel by Fergus Fleming
Hardback, December 2016
Viking Invader by Fergus Fleming
Hardback, November 2016
Roman Record by Fergus Fleming
Hardback, August 2016