Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Bridie'S Fire by Kirsty Murray

Bridie's world is torn apart when her parents and baby brother die in the Great Hunger. She leaves Ireland, and strikes out alone to claim a life for herself in Australia, on the other side of the ocean.Bridie's Fire is heart-warming story of courage and resilience. It affirms Kirsty Murray's keen understanding of the human spirit. Starting in the 1840s and ending in present-day Australia. The Children of the Wind quartet tells the stories of four courageous young people, Bridie, Billy, Colm and Maeve, born fifty years apart. The central character from each book becomes a mentor to the child in the next.A well crafted and finely tuned historical novel.a rollicking adventure. - Children's Book Council, Notable Books 2004I loved it! Really, I couldn't put it down. It's such an inspiration . . . my favourite book in the world. - Georgia, Year 8

Buy Bridie'S Fire by Kirsty Murray from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781865087276
ISBN-10: 1865087270
Format: Paperback
(195mm x 130mm x mm)
Pages: 264
Imprint: Allen & Unwin Children's Books
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2003
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Bridie'S Fire by Kirsty Murray

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bridie'S Fire book by Kirsty Murray and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Kirsty Murray

Kirsty Murray is the author of three popular junior novels - Zarconi's Magic Flying Fish (winner of the WA Premier's Children's Book Award, 2001), Market Blues and Walking Home with Marie Claire - and several non-fiction books for children. She has worked as a forest ranger, archivist, artist and teacher, and now is a full-time writer.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Bridie'S Fire by Kirsty Murray also bought the following titles:

Books By Kirsty Murray

Eat the Sky, Drink the Ocean by Kirsty Murray
Paperback, January 2015
Year it All Ended by Kirsty Murray
Paperback, September 2014
To The Wild Sky by Kirsty Murray
Paperback, April 2014
Four Seasons of Lucy Mckenzie by Kirsty Murray
Paperback, October 2013