1300 36 33 32

A powerful YA fictional examination of war told through three interlocking stories. Monsters of Blood and Honour contains three stand-alone stories, each with a related theme. In each story a teenager of 17 or 18 interacts with an elderly person who was their age during World War II. Each of these now-elderly people has undergone a traumatic and violent experience, which the modern teen, living in a different world and lifestyle, cannot relate to. However, they are in turn affected to the point of having their perspectives altered. The older characters are: Jooney who was a nurse during the fall of Singapore in 1942; Fred a co-pilot on a Lancaster during the thousand-bomber raids over German cities; and Mr Goodman, 'Old Goodey', an SS man who fought at the great tank battle of Kursk, was wounded and then sent to be a camp guard in Belsen. This book is gripping and suspenseful storytelling by an award-winning master of excellent plot. lines.

Buy Monsters of Blood and Honour book by Ken Catran from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781869419387
ISBN-10: 1869419383
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 131mm x 18mm)
Pages: 239
Imprint: Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publisher: Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publish Date: 21-Sep-2007
Country of Publication: New Zealand


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Monsters of Blood and Honour book by Ken Catran and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ken Catran

Ken Catran is an award-winning children's writer of over 30 acclaimed novels for young adults, as well as having been a highly successful television scriptwriter. His books for young adults engage with the historical, the fantastical, and science fiction. He has been shortlisted many times in the New Zealand Post Book Awards and won Book of the Year in 2001. In 2004 he won the Esther Glen Award for his distinguished contribution to literature at the LIANZA Children's Book Awards. He has been the Waikato University Writer in Residence and was the 2007 winner of the New Zealand's most prestigious award for children's writers, the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal. The award is given annually by the Storylines Children's Literature Charitable Trust to acknowledge a distinguished contribution to New Zealand children's literature.

Books By Author Ken Catran

Earth Dragon, Fire Hare by Ken Catran

Earth Dragon, Fire Hare

Paperback, April 2012
Nina Questor by Ken Catran

Nina Questor

Paperback, March 2011
Smiling Jack by Ken Catran

Smiling Jack

Paperback, June 2010
Nina of the Dark by Ken Catran

Nina of the Dark

Paperback, May 2009