1300 36 33 32

Adapted by Robert David MacDonald from Gitta Sereny's "Into That Darkness" "Robert David MacDonald's "In Quest of Conscience," based on Gitta Sereny's "Into That Darkness," a record of her interviews with death camp commandant Franz Stangl, takes it for granted that the Holocaust was a shocking crime against humanity; what it wants to know, with an urgency amounting to desperation, is how it happened, and how it can be prevented from happening again." - Joyce Macmillan, "Scotland on Sunday" "Stangl... bureaucrat of death who administered as massive an evil as the Holocaust in the same routine spirit in which he would have administered butter rationing ... What manner of man can be responsible for the slaughter of 1,200,000 of his fellows in the space of 14 months?" - Joseph Farrell, "The Scotsman" "Plays such as "In Quest of Conscience" are messengers of the unspeakable, which is why they should be listened to as this powerful, dignified piece was in complete moral silence." - John Peter, "The Sunday Times" "A brilliant and important play which is based on the actual interviews with the death camp commandant Franz Stragl by Gitta Sereny searching desperately to discover how the Holocaust happened, how one worked and lived with it, and how to prevent it occurring again" Blanche Marvin

Buy In Quest of Conscience book by Robert David MacDonald from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781870259552
ISBN-10: 1870259556
Format: Paperback
(184mm x 127mm x 6mm)
Pages: 70
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Dec-1996
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In Quest of Conscience book by Robert David MacDonald and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Robert David MacDonald

Plays by Robert David MacDonald


Paperback, October 2005
Mozart's Nachtmusik by Robert David MacDonald

Mozart's Nachtmusik

Paperback, October 2001
Three Plays by Robert David MacDonald

Three Plays

Paperback, May 1998
Brand by Robert David MacDonald


Paperback, August 1991