Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Wishing all of our customers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year - The Team at Boomerang Books

Description - Eddie's Country by Simon Luckhurst

Eddie Murray died in suspicious circumstances in a police cell in the NSW town of Wee Waa in 1981. He was twenty-one years old. Eddie's Country chronicles Arthur and Leila Murray's experience and their 24 year fight to smash the barrier of inconsistencies that surround their son's death. Biographer Simon Luckhurst records the Murray family's courage and details the betrayals, tragedies and heroism involved in their lives. Simon delves deep into the official inquiries and the 1980s Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody. Eddie's Country is a powerful testament to the courage of Arthur and Leila Murray and to the many others who were prepared to fight for justice. It places the struggle and heartache of the Murray family into context as it examines the socio-economic conditions faced by Aboriginal people in rural NSW.

Buy Eddie's Country by Simon Luckhurst from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781875641949
ISBN-10: 1875641947
Format: Paperback
(243mm x 153mm x 25mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Magabala Books
Publisher: Magabala Books
Publish Date: 1-Jan-2006
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Eddie's Country by Simon Luckhurst

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eddie's Country book by Simon Luckhurst and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Simon Luckhurst

Simon Luckhurst is a prolific writer, researcher, journalist, filmmaker and playwright who has won several awards and commendations for his work. His novel Understanding Bioluminescence was Highly Commended in the Vogel Literary Award and his most recent play Lines in the Sand was shortlisted for the 2008 Griffin Award."