Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - To What End? by Ward Just

As a young man, Ward Just spent eighteen months in Vietnam as a correspondent for the Washington Post. The experience would earn him both a citation from the Overseas Press Club and a Combat Infantryman's Badge awarded by the commander of the First Brigade of the 101st Airborne Division, and would serve as subject matter for decades of writing and many acclaimed, bestselling novels. The experience also inspired his very first book: a vivid, personal evocation of the atmosphere, the politics, and the moral dilemmas of Vietnam at the height of American involvement. Neither a polemic nor an apologia, To What End was the very first book published to ask the question: What are we doing here? It offers a morally ambiguous view of the war that was radical in its day and still bears the sting of truth: "The war hypnotized," he writes, "and those whose business it was to observe it came to regard it as a drama whose characters and plot were only dimly perceived. "In a foreword to the new PublicAffairs edition, Just reflects on Vietnam, on himself as a young man, and on how his views have and haven't changed since he wrote this sharply observed, sad, beautiful, and still disturbing book. * A rediscovered classic of the Vietnam War, published for the 25th anniversary of the fall of Saigon * For veterans of the war and of the times--and for readers of Michael Herr's Dispatches, Neil Sheehan's A Bright and Shining Lie, Tim O'Brien's Going After Cacciato, and Philip Caputo's A Rumor of War * Readers of Just's novels will be fascinated by his journalistic treatment of the subject that became his lifelong preoccupation in fiction

Buy To What End? by Ward Just from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781891620775
ISBN-10: 1891620770
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: PublicAffairs,U.S.
Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
Publish Date: 2-Mar-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - To What End? by Ward Just

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about To What End? book by Ward Just and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Books By Ward Just

Eastern Shore by Ward Just
Paperback, October 2017
$25.75
American Romantic by Ward Just
Paperback, April 2015
$25.68
Rodin's Debutante by Ward Just
Paperback, April 2012
$27.47
Forgetfulness by Ward Just
Paperback, September 2007
$27.40