Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Scottish Kingship, 1306-1488 by Michael Brown

The monarchy provided the Scots with a focus for their national identity and gave Scotland a recognised status in Europe. The fourteenth and fifteenth centuries formed a new era for Scottish kingship, in which the crown and individual rulers achieved new status and faced fresh challenges to their authority and legitimacy. This collection of essays examines the role and exercise of kingship in a late medieval realm, with essays focusing on individual reigns or on particular themes.

Buy Scottish Kingship, 1306-1488 by Michael Brown from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781904607823
ISBN-10: 1904607829
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 156mm x mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: John Donald Short Run Press
Publisher: John Donald Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 21-Nov-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Scottish Kingship, 1306-1488 by Michael Brown

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Scottish Kingship, 1306-1488 book by Michael Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Michael Brown

Michael Brown is a Reader in Scottish History in the Department of Scottish History at the University of St Andrews. He is author of a number of publications, including James I, The Black Douglases and Wars of Scotland. Roland Tanner was medieval editor of the Records of the Parliaments of Scotland, 1235-1707 (, co-editor of The History of the Scottish Parliament, volume 1: Parliaments and Politics in Scotland, 1235-1560 (Edinburgh) and author of The Late Medieval Scottish Parliament: Politics and the Three Estates, 1424-1488. Since 2003 he has been partner in TannerRitchie Publishing, a publisher of digital historical resources.

Books By Michael Brown

Death in the Garden by Michael Brown
Paperback, March 2018
Searches for Tradition by Michael Brown
Paperback, November 2017
Flood by Michael Brown
Hardback, September 2016
Irish Enlightenment by Michael Brown
Hardback, May 2016