Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Unsilvered Screen by Graeme Harper

Luis Bunuel once recalled that 'the real purpose of Surrealism was not to create a new literary, artistic or even philosophical movement, but to explode the social order, to transform life itself'. Naturally drawn to such comments, here in this volume leading critics from the UK, US, Australia, Canada and Japan offer fresh, and some-times provocative views of canonical Surrealist works from Bunuel, Jan Svankmajer and David Lynch, alongside lively analyses of surprisingly surrealist aspects of contemporary Japanese, Russian and British cinema, Disney animation, digital cinema and documentary. "The Unsilvered Screen" thus explores the vibrant effect and considerable legacy of Surrealism on film.

Buy The Unsilvered Screen by Graeme Harper from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781904764861
ISBN-10: 190476486X
Format: Paperback
(250mm x 150mm x 15mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: Wallflower Press
Publisher: Wallflower Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Unsilvered Screen by Graeme Harper

Book Reviews - The Unsilvered Screen by Graeme Harper

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Unsilvered Screen book by Graeme Harper and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Graeme Harper

Graeme Harper is Head of Creative Arts, Film and Media at the University of Portsmouth. Publications include Swallowing Film (2000), Comedy, Fantasy and Colonialism (2001) and Small Maps of the World (2005). He is also the co-editor of the journal Studies in European Cinema. Rob Stone is Senior Lecturer in the Department of Media and Communication at the University of Swansea, and the author of Spanish Cinema (2002), The Wounded Throat: Flamenco in the Works of Federico Garcia Lorca and Carlos Saura (2004) and Julio Medem (2006).