Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Railway Children by E. Nesbit

Peter, Roberta and Phyllis' lives change overnight when suddenly Father is taken away by two strangers. They move from the comfort of their London residence to a modest country cottage, and find that Mother is no longer able to entertain them as she must write slavishly to support the family. Once fairly wealthy, they are now 'poor' and must adapt accordingly. But with this change comes more freedom than they could ever have dreamt of, as they learn to entertain themselves and forge their own moral code. So begins a tale of blissful independence and adventures aplenty with the railway line at the bottom of their garden becoming central to the children's lives. Not only do the railway line, its station and staff offer the trio a world of new friendships - with pride of place going to Perks, the porter - it also introduces them to the man who will help right the terrible wrong that blights their life. Illustrated by C E Brock, with an Afterword by Anna South.

Buy The Railway Children by E. Nesbit from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781905716104
ISBN-10: 1905716109
Format: Hardback
(157mm x 100mm x 16mm)
Pages: 280
Imprint: Macmillan Collector's Library
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Railway Children by E. Nesbit

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Railway Children book by E. Nesbit and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - E. Nesbit

Edith Nesbit was born in 1858 and, like her fictional characters in The Railway Children, her middle-class family was one whose fortunes declined. After surviving a tough and nomadic childhood she met and married her husband, Hubert Bland, in 1880 whilst pregnant with the couple's first child. Financial hardship was to dog Nesbit again when Bland's business failed, forcing her to write to support their burgeoning family. She only later in life focused on writing the children's stories for which she became so well known, including The Story of The Treasure Seekers (1899), The Wouldbegoods (1901), Five Children and It (1902) and The Railway Children (1906). She died in 1924.

Books By E. Nesbit

Story of the Amulet by E. Nesbit
Paperback, March 2018
Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit
Paperback, December 2017
New Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit
Paperback, December 2017
Railway Children by E. Nesbit
Hardback, October 2017