Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards

The ten stories of Rhapsody, together with the three previously uncollected pieces added to this edition, are utterly distinctive in voice and sensibility. At least three of the Rhapsody stories - 'A Country House', 'Days', and the brilliant, allusive and enigmatic 'A Garland of Earth' - are small masterpieces. Not bad by the age of twenty-four. All of them are extremely controlled studies of constrained desire, loneliness and incomplete relationships for which Edwards was developing a non-realist world of imagery and symbolism and her own language. Music is one of the motifs. For Edwards, music represents art, but also the possibility of sexual passion which is otherwise largely unstated but is everywhere a powerful undercurrent.

Buy Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781905762460
ISBN-10: 1905762461
Format: Paperback
(215mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 283
Imprint: Parthian Books
Publisher: Parthian Books
Publish Date: 1-Oct-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards

Book Reviews - Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rhapsody book by Dorothy Edwards and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Dorothy Edwards

Dorothy Edwards was born near Cardiff in 1903. In 1927 a collection of her short stories from English and American magazines, Rhapsody was published and hailed by critics as the work of a genius. After the publication of her second book, the novel Winter Sonata, in 1928 she was taken up by the London literary set. She died in 1934.

Books By Dorothy Edwards

My Naughty Little Sister Collection by Dorothy Edwards
Paperback, August 2013
My Naughty Little Sister's Friends by Dorothy Edwards
Paperback, August 2010
My Naughty Little Sister and Bad Harry by Dorothy Edwards
Paperback, August 2010
When My Naughty Little Sister Was Good by Dorothy Edwards
Paperback, August 2010