Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

From the award-winning Mark Greenwood ("The Legend of Lasseter's Reef" and "The Legend of Moodyne Joe") comes "Fortuyn's Ghost", a haunting tale of shipwreck on the high seas. In 1724, the Dutch East India Company ship Fortuyn vanished after leaving the Cape of Good Hope, bound for Batavia. Stowed below deck was the Company's trading cash (a rich cargo of silver ingots, bullion and coins), all sealed in ten oak money chests. "Fortuyn's Ghost" imagines the doomed ship's fateful voyage to its likely end on Western Australia's treacherous Shipwreck Coast - a place well known for nautical hauntings.

Buy Fortuyn's Ghost book by Mark Greenwood from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781920694777
ISBN-10: 1920694773
Format: Hardback
(280mm x 210mm x 10mm)
Pages: 32
Imprint: University of Western Australia Press
Publisher: UWA Publishing
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2007
Country of Publication: Australia


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Fortuyn's Ghost book by Mark Greenwood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mark Greenwood

Mark Greenwood is a storyteller with a passion for Australian history and folklore. Two of his previous books, The Legend of Lasseter's Reef and The Legend of Moondyne Joe (with Frane Lessac), have both won Western Australian Premier's Book Awards. Mark Wilson drew on his boyhood love of old sailing ships to illustrate Fortuyn's Ghost. Mark's previous children's picture books include the Extinction Series (Wilderness Society Environment Award for Children's Literature) and Yellow-Eye (Wilderness Society award, CBC Notable Book).

Books By Author Mark Greenwood

History Mysteries: the Last Tiger by Mark Greenwood

History Mysteries: the Last Tiger

Paperback, May 2017
History Mysteries by Mark Greenwood

History Mysteries

Paperback, January 2017
Boomerang and Bat by Mark Greenwood

Boomerang and Bat

Hardback, April 2016
Midnight by Mark Greenwood


Paperback, September 2015