Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Fire Gospel:Myth Series, by Michel Faber

In the aftermath of the first war in Iraq, Theo Griepenkerl is visiting the looted museum of Mosul when a bomb explodes outside the building. As Theo seeks shelter, he stumbles across the discovery of a lifetime- nine papyrus scrolls that have lain hidden for two thousand years. Theo believes that he has found the fifth gospel, and its significance is extraordinary. It offers a shocking new account of the last days of Christ, calling into question the conventional narrative of events. As Theo sets out to share his discovery with the world, he can scarcely imagine where his journey will take him, and the trials and dangers that lie ahead. The Fire Gospel is on one level a hugely entertaining tale. At its heart lies a profound and powerful message about the power of words to resonate across centuries. As an indictment of fundamentalism, it is as controversial and provocative as The Last Temptation of Christ. It is a revelatory piece of storytelling.

Buy The Fire Gospel:Myth Series, by Michel Faber from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781921351815
ISBN-10: 1921351810
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Pages: 214
Imprint: The Text Publishing Company
Publisher: Text Publishing Co
Publish Date: 29-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The Fire Gospel:Myth Series, by Michel Faber

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Fire Gospel:Myth Series, book by Michel Faber and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Michel Faber

Michel Faber's startlingly original novel, Under the Skin (2000), which garnered accolades from around the world, was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award 2000 and nominated for the Dublin Impac Award, 2002. He has also won several short story awards including the Neil Gunn, Ian St James and Macallan. Some Rain Must Fall (1988), his first collection of stories, won a Scottish Arts Council award as well as the Saltire First Book of the Year Award, 1999. Faber's fiction is being translated into 21 languages. Born in Holland, brought up in Australia, he now lives in the Scottish Highlands.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought The Fire Gospel:Myth Series, by Michel Faber also bought the following titles:

Books By Michel Faber

Under The Skin by Michel Faber
Paperback, July 2017
Undying by Michel Faber
Paperback, April 2017
Some Rain Must Fall And Other Stories by Michel Faber
Paperback, July 2016
Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber
Paperback, August 2015