1300 36 33 32

It's time for eighteen-year-old James Sveck to begin his freshman year at Brown. Instead, he's surfing the real-estate listings, searching for a sanctuary - a nice farmhouse in Kansas, perhaps. Although James lives in twenty first-century Manhattan, he's more at home in the faraway worlds of Eric Rohmer or Anthony Trollope - or his favourite writer, the obscure and tragic Denton Welch. James's sense of dislocation is exacerbated by his wilfully self-absorbed parents, a disdainful sister, his cryptic shrink, and an increasingly vague, D-list celebrity grandmother. Compounding matters is James's growing infatuation with a handsome male colleague at the art gallery his mother owns, where James supposedly works at his summer job but actually plots his escape to the prairies. In the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye, Peter Cameron paints an indelible portrait of a teenage hero holding out for a better grown-up world.

Buy Someday This Pain Will be Useful to You book by Peter Cameron from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781921372148
ISBN-10: 1921372141
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 128mm x 18mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Scribe Publications
Publisher: Scribe Publications
Publish Date: 30-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: Australia

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Someday This Pain Will be Useful to You book by Peter Cameron and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Peter Cameron

Authors Bio, not available

Books By Author Peter Cameron

Legal Aspects of EU Energy Regulation by Peter Cameron

Legal Aspects of EU Energy Regulation

Hardback, October 2016
$360.86
Totempole by Peter Cameron

Totempole

Paperback, October 2014
$29.54
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine by Peter Cameron

Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine

Paperback, May 2014
$107.10
Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine by Peter Cameron

Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine

Paperback, September 2011
$88.20